Fellows and Honorary Fellows of The Heraldry Society

The Fellowship is the highest honour which the Society can bestow, and is a recognition of outstanding achievement in connection with the art and science of heraldry.

The neck insignia worn by an Honorary Fellow of the Society. A Fellow wears the same but with the addition of a yellow stripe on the ribbon

The Faculty of Fellows, in admitting a new member, takes into particular consideration published work and distinction in the field of  education. In accordance with the Society’s articles, only a member of the Society can be made a Fellow. The number of Fellows is limited to 50.

The Honorary Fellowship can be awarded both to members and to non members. These individuals will have, over a long period of time, provided outstanding service to the Society and/or to heraldry in general.

ALPHABETICAL LIST OF FELLOWS with dates of election

Dr Adrian P Ailes, FSA 1st April 1992, prev Hon Fellow 1991
Mr Steven Ashley FSA 9th May 2022
Prof D’Arcy J D Boulton FSA 15th February 2021
Dr Clive E A Cheesman, FSA, Richmond Herald 15th February 2021
Dr Paul A Fox, FSA 4th September 2017
Mr Stephen Friar 30th March 1994
Dr Andrew Gray 21st January 2015
Mr David Hopkinson 24th July 2017
Mr Anthony Ll Jones 22nd November 1999
Mr Keith Lovell, also Vice-President 10th February 2004, prev Hon Fellow 1992
Mr R John Malden, Retd Unicorn Pursuivant 24th July 2017
Mr Baz Manning 21st May 2023
Mr Robert Meeds 24th July 2017
Dr Kenneth Mourin 10th February 2004
Mr M Peter D O’Donoghue, FSA, York Herald 15th February 2021
Mrs Elizabeth Roads, MVO, FSA, Snawdoun Herald 26th March 2018
Dr Michael P Siddons, FSA, Retd Wales Herald Extraordinary 26th June 1996
Mr Stephen Slater 9th February 2009
Mr Roland Symons 24th July 2017
Mr John Titterton, FSA 8th January 2018
Sir Thomas Woodcock, KCVO, FSA, Garter King of Arms 2010-2021 26th June 1996




Mr Clive Alexander 9th May 2022
Robert Balchin, Lord Lingfield 17th June 1987
Mr Graham F Beck 11th June 1980
Mr S Patrick Cracroft-Brennan 9th March 1988
Mr Martin J Davies 7th May 1997
Mrs Ann Esslemont 2003
Mrs Arline Fisher 9th May 2022
Mr Michael Fowle CBE FCA 9th May 2022
Mr D Peter F Giles 7th May 1997
Dr Malcolm Golin 11th February 2003
Mr Robert S Harrison 18th September 1996
Mr David S Hopkinson 12th February 2000
Mr David C Hubber, also Vice President 2nd May 2001
Mr Graeme Jebb 16th September 1992
Dr Bernard Juby 6th June 1989
Mr Darrel E Kennedy, FRHSC, Assiniboine Herald 7th May 1997
Mr Colin Lee 2nd February 2000
Mr J David Lee 7th May 1997
Mr Henry S Lynn Jr 7th May 1997
Mr Kenneth A Porter 3rd February 1999
Mr Adrian de Redman 11th February 2003
Major J C Riley
Miss Mary Rose Rogers 9th April 1986
Mr John Tunesi of Liongam 5th September 2016
Mrs Jane Tunesi of Liongam 5th September 2016
Mr Robert Watt, Chief Herald of Canada 1988–2007 and President of the AIH 7th May 1997
Mr David V White, Garter King of Arms, also Vice President 12th May 2014



For further information click an Obit link; this will take you to this website’s Obituaries section unless it is in brackets, when you will be directed elsewhere.

Name Elected Died Obituary
Ms Drusilla Armitage 2000 2019
Mr Hugh Murray Baillie, MBE, FSA 1972 1982
Lt Cdr John Bedells, Howard Pursuivant Extraordinary 1992 (Hon FHS 1970) 2001
Mr Peter Begent, FSA 1981 2001 [Obit]
Hon Sir George Bellew, KCVO, FSA, Retd Garter King of Arms Founder Fellow 1993 [Obit]
Revd Frank M Best 1978 1996
Dr Harold Bowditch, MD, FSA 1963 1964
Prof Gerard J Brault, FSA 1977 2020 [Obit]
Mr Rowland Bretton 1963 1973 [Obit]
Mr Ralph Brocklebank 2009 2022
Mr John P B Brooke-Little, CVO, FSA, Retd Clarenceux King of Arms Founder Fellow 2006 Obit
Mr Robert Brown 2018 2019
Mr Colin Campbell 1981 1998 Obit
Mr D Hubert B Chesshyre, FSA, Retd Clarenceux King of Arms 1990 2020
Sir Alexander Colin Cole, KCVO, FSA, Retd Garter King of Arms 1960 2001 Obit
Major Thomas Reginald Davies 1980 1980
Mr John Ferguson 2001 2021
Mr Peter Field 1997, prev Hon Fellow 1989 2018
Mr Ronald Fiske 2011 2018
Mr John Charles Grossmith George, Kintyre Pursuivant 1983 2012 Obit
H.E. Archbishop Bruno Bernard Heim 1981 2003 Obit
Mr Cedric Jennings Holyoake, FSA 1977 1996 Obit
Mr David Howard 1999 2005
Mr Cecil Raymond Humphery-Smith, OBE, AIH, FSA 1960 2021 [Obit]
Mr Charles Henry Hunter Blair, FSA 1960 1962 Obit
Major J F Huxford 1996 1997
Sir Thomas Innes of Learney, GCVO Founder Fellow 1971 [Obit]
Mr Solomon C Kaines-Smith, MBE, FSA Founder Fellow 1958
Mr Hugh Stanford London, FSA Founder Fellow 1959 Obit
Dr Jiří Louda 2014 2015 Obit
Mr Michael Maclagan, CVO, FSA, Retd Richmond Herald 1972 2003 [Obit]
Cdr Arthur W B Messenger, FSA Founder Fellow 1970 Obit
Sir Iain Moncreiffe of that Ilk, CVO, FSA 1981 1985 [Obit]
Mr Harold B Pereira 1967 1980
Mr Gilbert Winter Potter 1972, prev Hon Fellow 1959 1983
Mr Roger F Pye 1980 2001
Mr L Edward Rothwell 1972 2020
Mr Johan Jacobus Schell-Lannoy 1972 1976
Mr C Wilfrid Scott-Giles, FSA Founder Fellow 1982 [Obit]
Mr George Drewry Squibb, LVO, FSA, Norfolk Herald Extraordinary 1960 1994 Obit
Mr Peter Gilbert Summers, FSA 1985 1994 Obit
Mr E N Taylor 2000 2013
Dr Harold Ellis Tomlinson 1961 1996 Obit
Sir Anthony Wagner, KCVO, FSA, Retd Garter King of Arms Founder Fellow 1995 Obit
Mr Anthony Wood FSHA 1979 2022



HISTORICAL LIST OF HONORARY FELLOWS with year of election. See also Obituaries.

Most of those listed are known to be deceased, but with some we have simply lost contact. Where no date of death is given, we should welcome any current information. Contact roll@theheraldrysociety.com.

Name Elected Died Obituary
Revd Canon Dr John Andrew OBE 1997 2014
Lt Cdr Alan Beddoe OBE 1968 1975
Mr George M Beley 1968 1976
Mrs L M Biermann 1976
Mr Thomas Henry Brown 1979 1993
Mr David Butterworth 2000 2011
Ms Ann Buttimore 1980
Col I C Byrne 1959
Mr Frank Cadogan-Cowper 1977 1994
Mr Ian Lachlan Campbell, FRHSC 1997 2007
Mr John Campbell-Kease 2001 2015
Mrs Patricia Campbell-Kease 2001
Col H A Cape, DSO 1959 1963
Mr J I Dent 2006
Miss Constance Egan aka Mrs Raymond Brooke-Little Founder HonFHS 1975 Obit
Mr Peter Esslemont 1991 2012
Mr Alan Fennely 2015 2020
Mr Peter Field 1989 2018
Prof Robert Cecil Gale 1961 1975
Mrs Muriel Gardner (née Heath) 1961 2017 Obit
Mrs Margaret George 2015
Ms Grace Grant 1989 2004
Mr Albert Hamilton Hamilton-Hopkins 1986
Dr William Owen Hassall 1968 1994
Mr Noel Paul Walter Hatcher 1964 1995
Dr Anthony Hobson 1970 2000
Mr Kay Holmes 1987 2018
Mr Michael R W C Holmes 1995
Mr Frederick Humphery-Smith, MBE 1967 1979
Mr T B Jenkins Founder HonFHS 1970
Mr Melvyn Jeremiah, CB, also Vice President 2014 2023
Mr F G F Keyes 1968
Mrs Ann Kirby 1988 1996
Mr James Lewis Kirby jr (Kirby Fund) 1988 2015
Mr David Krause 1988 2020
Mr Charles Low 1968 1988
Sir Christopher Lynch-Robinson Bt Founder HonFHS 1958
Mr James McCready 1997 2012
Mr H Norman Manwaring 1966 1985
Mr Robert W Massey 1963
Mr Charles Mellor 1966 1994
Mrs Marian Miles 1997 2006 Obit
Mr J F de Montigny 1959
Mr Terence Owens 1977 1995
Maj Gen Sir Edward Phillips KBE CB DSO MC 1968 1973
Mr Leslie G Pierson 1979 2003
Mr Keith Baddely Poole 1974 1998
Cdr James Risk CVO FSA 1997
Revd Everhard James Rowe 1970 1994
Mr Frank W.Smith 1962 2004
Count Thierry de Limburg Stirum 1959 1968
Lt Col A M Stoyles 1968 1992
Mrs Martine Sweeney (née Hodson) 1980
Mrs Nan Taylor 1994 2011
Maj Phillips MacKay Till 1968
Aubrey J Toppin, CVO, FSA, York Herald, then Maltravers Herald Extraordinary Founder HonFHS 1969
Mr Adrian G L Turner, LVO Founder HonFHS 2010
Mr Charles E Town 1978 1991
Canon Derrick Walkden 2003 2017
Col A Weaver-Hazleton 1968
Sir Gerald Wollaston, KCB, KCVO, Norroy & Ulster King of Arms Founder HonFHS 1957
Mr John Howard Wright 1977 1998
Mr A J Young 1975 1999